ON AIR: Radio Adventures at ABC Local

Saturday Night Country

So I’ve been terribly slack with the blog of late… But I’m delighted to say it’s because I’ve been working away at my dream gig. For the past six weeks I’ve been guest programming ABC Local Radio’s only weekly national program dedicated to country music: Saturday Night Country. It’s a great honour and a real thrill to be able to share my passion for twang for four hours on the radio every week. I still pinch myself every time I walk into the studio, cue up the microphone and see the red ‘ON AIR’ light flash.

 

DJ2Highlights from the program so far have included extensive coverage (as well as a brilliant time) at the Tamworth Country Music Festival, interviews with Rodney Crowell and Bill Chambers and a live performance from my favourite emerging Americana star, 24-year-old Texan songwriter Robert Ellis.

With lots of songs music to play and great musicians to talk to, you can imagine how much fun I’m having. But you know what my favourite part of the show is? The chance to interact with country music fans across Australia every week. It is so wonderful when listeners call in, or text or tweet, or find me on facebook, just to say – “Hey, I loved that track!” or “Do you think you could play some Johnny Cash?”

DJThe hosting gig is only a temporary one as I have to head back to Nashville in April to record my debut EP which is long overdue. Stay tuned!

3 thoughts on “ON AIR: Radio Adventures at ABC Local

    • Emma Swift says:

      Oh no! Let me know where you guys are going and I can give some travel pointers regardless! Austin is a super cool city and I love LA and NY and the Grand Canyon. Who am I kidding – I love the whole goddamn country!

Leave a comment