Making my debut EP in Nashville, Tennessee…

sydney

After a lovely summer in Sydney – making radio, soaking up sunshine, playing gigs and catching up with my dear friends, I’m heading back to the United States. Exciting! I have many projects on the go this year but the biggest (and most scary one) is recording my debut EP in Nashville, Tennessee.

I’ve been writing songs for about two years and finally feel ready to hit record. I confess: I’m terrified. I confess again: I have no idea what I’m doing. Another confession: I’ve decided I’m okay with that. What the?

In spite of all my own doubts and insecurites about music, life, writing, the whole damn thing, I’m fortunate enough to be surrounded by people who encourage me to keep doing it. Last night in Sydney, in a busy pub in the city’s inner-west, a whole room  – of friends, family and complete strangers – let me sing for them. And clapped afterwards. And asked for more at the end. And then drunk tequila with me ’til the late-late hours. Life is good!

As well as the gig last night, I launched a crowdfunding campaign yesterday to help fund my EP. My thoughts on crowdfunding so far? It’s unbelievable. It’s surprising. It’s inspiring.

Since the whole crowdfunding trend started, I have enjoyed contributing to campaigns from films to albums to theatre shows because I like supporting independent art. But nothing prepared me for what it is like to be on the asking side of the fence. WOW.

photo

Within 12 hours of launching my page, more than 30 people contributed to the making of my record. Some left comments, some wrote on facebook or tweeted, others remained anonymous. But each single person made me feel loved and supported and inspired to make the best possible recording I can.

Since I can’t express how grateful I am without exhausting adjectives, I’m just going to do what I do best. Express my feelings via youtube. Thank you to everyone who has supported me so far – be it going to gigs, or sending encouragement or by heading possible. And thanks to Donna Fargo for this incredible red jumpsuit.

Leave a comment