In response to some ‘fan’ mail

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAJust after Christmas, an Australian songwriter I’ve never met or heard of decided to contact me to pitch some songs. He wasn’t charming about it. He was actually kind of harsh. I went into shock first, then sadness, then quiet, quiet rage. It’s not that I have  a problem with criticism. And it’s not that I’m not open to suggestion. It’s the I-know-nothing-about-you-but-I-know-better-than-you tone. I almost didn’t respond. But I couldn’t help myself.
Picture_9

David,

Thank you for contacting me to talk about music.  I’m sorry to hear that a cursory search of my name in youtube did not yield a more enjoyable listening experience for you. I understand that country music, especially of the older style may not be to your liking. It is, however, my favourite kind of music to sing and play.

I haven’t always sung this way. I was a Catholic school choir girl first, then I sung folk, jazz, opera, musical theatre, blues. But none of these ever fit quite right. And then I found country. I was 2o. Maybe 21. The years blur. It was a particularly rough period of young womanhood. My father had just drunk himself into an early grave. I’d just left my first serious boyfriend for a lover of lesser quality, though I did not know that nearly soon enough. I was down and out and almost insane with sorrow. Perhaps it’s more appropriate to say then, country music found me.

I was not singing very much at the time. Certainly not playing gigs. But I was undergoing the first phase of what I now consider my artistic becoming. It began with a copy of Neil Young’s Harvest, then continued with Gram Parsons’ GP, Emmylou Harris’ Elite Hotel and Luxury Liner, Patty Griffin’s Impossible Dream, Ryan Adams’ Heartbreaker and always, always, perhaps more than any other album, Lucinda Williams’ World Without Tears, a collection of songs which, if ever there had to be just one, probably saved my life.

David, I have never met you. I do not know if you know these records. I do not know that you could ever know what they mean to me.

Some time after those albums wove their way into my heart, but well before I was singing the “daggy old country tuners [sic]” you found on the internet, I lived in sin with a particularly unsupportive boyfriend who held similar sentiments to the ones expressed in your facebook message. He was a career musician who I loved desperately and whose opinions I cared about way too much.  His feedback about my vocal style, song choices and artistic heroes all but shattered my self-esteem and willingness to sing along to music on the household stereo, let alone get in front of an audience with a guitar and sing for real, my songs or anyone else’s. I would not say this was a positive way to spend four years of my life, or what I now half-jokingly refer to as “the best years of my breasts”.

David, I have never met you. I do not know that you could ever know what it is like to have your life force and bosoms slump in unison.

Just before that relationship ended, just before my creative spirit could be considered completely trampled, just before I almost lost myself and my love for music completely, I took a trip to the country I now call home – America. I drank in dive bars. I flirted with cowboys, real and imagined. I drove a silver convertible through the Grand Canyon at dusk blasting Roy Orbison songs on the stereo. I watched stars burn bright above the hilltops of ghost towns overlooking the desert. I felt – for the first time in years – real joy.

David, I have never met you. I do not know that you could ever know what this experience meant to me.

When I returned to Australia, I ditched the bloke, picked up my guitar and decided I would sing whatever the fuck I liked. Sure some would like it. Some would hate it. That’s the way music goes.

I’m sorry to hear that you find the songs of George Jones, Gram Parsons, Alex Chilton, Guy Clark, Willie Nelson, A.P. Carter, Lucinda Williams et. al. “boring”.

Not just because you felt compelled enough to contact me about it and put me down. Not just because your message hurt my feelings and my ego and made want to go back through the videos of bootlegged gig footage with a fine tooth comb and obsess over the many performance flaws, as though I haven’t already done enough of that.

I’m sorry because these are great songs. Songs I love. Songs that speak to my soul. Songs that deserve to be heard and respected and enjoyed. Songs that I want to do justice to.

I understand from your message that you’re a songwriter and your music is, in your own words “some good shit”. That’s great. Good for you. And I’m flattered that you think my voice might suit the songs you’ve written. But since you did not like, nay was “not once impressed” by the songs of some of my favourite songwriters, I think we might not be a good creative match. I think I might be too old-fashioned for you. I think you might find a more suitable singer somewhere else on the internet.

David, I have never met you. I may never get to know you or your songs. But I know this: the era where I valued a man’s opinion about art above my own ended half a decade ago.

With that in mind, you too should know something. There’s a good chance I will never call you.

Regards,

Emma Swift

Nashville, Tennessee

January 2013

skeeter

48 thoughts on “In response to some ‘fan’ mail

    • Trevor Kirk says:

      I agree wholeheartedly but I was deeply disappointed to find “fuck” (my favourite word – in private only) in the body of Emma’s eloquent reply. I “sort of” expected “shit” in David’s horse manure. Whoops – this program doesn’t like “favoUrite” so it’s crankyanker (US TV show). The US was subjected to the greatest con job ever by Noah Webster in 1805, with his $0.14 dictionary. As a result the US culture became the laughing stock of the world. As a jazz man, I like a bit of Country AND Western- both types. Cheers from Oz.

  1. Bernard says:

    More grace and insight than this undiscovered-for-a-reason songwriter deserved Emma. You have the class and the taste he so obviously lacks

  2. Janet Grist says:

    Dear Emma,

    What an inspiration you are. I’m sure many women have trodden a similar path and hopefully could now also reply in the genuine, heartfelt way you did to someone who clearly was only thinking of himself.

    Have you considered that this episode might make a great song?

    And I, too, love all the artists and songs you list.

  3. Billie Parsons says:

    Hi Emma!
    A long time ago l managed a pub called the Rochester Castle in old Melbourne town. Seems a world away now now but even right back then l loved hearing you play. Great serve to that knob of a bloke. Such a beautifully measured response almost wasted on him, the saving grace was allowing us bystanders/fans to listennand join in. The final part of your response, ‘the era where I valued a man’s opinion about art above my own ended half a decade ago.’ was a real, ‘don’t let the door hit you on the arse on the way out. Brilliant!
    Your sound has developed so sweetly. As for it being your art, as an artist myself, its not until you realise the power and strength in yourself that you see how irrelevant other peoples opinions can be. More power to you Emma, well done.

  4. Adam Dennis says:

    I am a songwriter. I’m Australian. I’m a bloke. Having read Dave’s message I am now embarrassed and a little ashamed to be all of these things. I salute your grace, Emma; I don’t believe I could have crafted such a generous reply under those circumstances. One thing that relieves my shame slightly is the knowledge that good songwriting is a craft that requires insight – into the human condition, into the way community works, into the self – and I’m powerfully confident that Dave has none of this. I safely conclude that Dave’s “good shit” is, indeed, just shit after all. Emma, two thumbs up for your response to him and for sharing. Love your work.

  5. timetravelturtle says:

    So fantastic. I love that your whole response sounds like a country song that people will one day sing across the world, thinking of their idols.

  6. Steve Mason says:

    Emma, what a nice person you must be to reply so graciously and eloquently to such a waste of time and space, good on you, being fond of daggy old stuff will look you up on youtube, all the best, love your dignity, lots of love to you from Steve

  7. Janie-Lee McRobert says:

    Top notch answer-very dignified and very impressive-I didn’t know of you before but shit I do now! Love your work as seen on YouTube now and forever
    Janie-Lee
    ps all those songwriters are my faves

  8. brenden says:

    I have a Youtube channel where I show my new vinyl records and talk about music in general. Many young people seem to think I’m a DJ or music promoter … I’m not. I get very similar messages to this constantly. Words in the order of ‘I like the music you show/play, but mine is much better ‘. Seems we have raised a generation of respectless young people who think they are just entitled to success without having to work for it.

    Respect for writing such a letter …. as some others have already said …. I wouldn’t have got past F*ck off !

  9. Jo Meares says:

    Hi Em, You’re the best! We are blessed to have you on this planet! Beautifully written….I had a similiar feeling from a review I got one time it kind of makes you sick in the stomach and angry at the same time….Jo x

  10. Mark Moldre says:

    I’ve said it already on Facebook and I just have to say it again after re-reading your response :

    “Emma, I have never met you. After reading the above you are my hero.”

  11. James Dominguez says:

    Emma, I’m listening to your farewell performance of Fleetwood Mac’s Dreams on Triple J, and damned near in tears. What a gorgeous voice you have. You have exhibited remarkable maturity and restraint in your response to Dave, which makes you not only talented as all hell, but an exceptionally decent human being as well. You go girl. Go get super-famous and show the Daves of this world how little their small-minded opinions mean to you.

  12. Andy Litster says:

    Emma , life gives us gems, we some time’s miss them with all the other stones ,, your reply is a gem , rare and gifted,, keep singing , writing , growing , and blowing doors closed with a click , I am just starting to sing myself after 40yrs of being told by family that I sing bad,, real bad ,, NOW i love to sing ,, realy realy ,, bad ,, or some say from the heart ,, , music is for the soul ,, allways be in your soul,, THX for taking the time abby to post this cheers Andy

  13. danschaumann says:

    You’ve won yourself a new fan Emma. I’ve just youtubed A Song For You and Heart and they both suit your style perfectly. I know how it feels to be the recipient of comments like David’s, and you’ve handled it with the greatest of integrity. Keep up the great work 😀

  14. Brendan Taggart says:

    Utterly gracious of you. And inspiring to read. From another Australian let me aplogise for this idiot. We know where he lives 🙂

  15. Overheard Productions (Bill Quinn) says:

    I can think of two words to say to this guy, but two other words typify your response and they are ‘dignified restraint’.

    Well played.

    And I love the repeating refrain of, “David, I have never met you.” It’s like an uber-polite way of saying, “Is this getting through to you?”

    We have words here in Australia for people like Dave, but this is a family blog so I’ll leave that to your imagination. I have to say that the line, “I ditched the bloke, picked up my guitar and decided I would sing whatever the fuck I liked” is simply pure gold. That’s like a mantra for life.

    Shine on!

  16. stillsongoftheheart says:

    brilliant! I am glad one of my friends posted your reply to this foolish man on her facebook page, because now I have discovered you as a singer and hope to hear more of your beautiful voice. I delighted in your phrasing and the emotion you give as you sing. Wishing you every success x

  17. Yasmine says:

    Not only do you have a beautiful voice, you can sure as hell write, very envious of your skills… Write a song about it

    • Emma Swift says:

      Thanks for reading the blog post Yasmine! It’s been overwhelming how many people have contacted me and sorry this is so late but I am so glad you liked it and thanks for your nice comments. Hope 2013 is being super kind to you. 🙂

  18. Kim says:

    Bravo! I don’t know you, nor will you ever know how much I related to that, never again will a man’s opinion rule my life, artistically nor otherwise.

  19. Ray Sawyer says:

    Not really sure I can add to the swathe of supportive comments already posted but here goes. I’m just a listener of music. I’ve never been a musician and never will be. Maybe I could have tried. So anyone like yourself who gets up on stage to entertain us with their talents should be lauded and applauded. So I’m not sure what this guy’s point was apart from being a complete knob jockey. If his letters of introduction are indication of his song writing skills I’m not too sure I’d like to meet up with him and hear them either. Anyway I do hope the US adventure is going well. Live the dream as they say. I hope to get to Nashville at some stage in the future so keep us sustained with what’s happening over there. In the meantime we will live vicariously through your regular updates via Facebook. Happy 2013 ! Regards, Ray.

    Ps: the TMC isn’t the same now without you 🙂

    • Emma Swift says:

      Hi Ray!

      Sorry it has taken me forever to get back to this but thank you for your kind words and encouragement! USA adventure has been amazing. I have to pinch myself just about every day. I’m back in OZ at the moment because I got a short stint hosting a country program on the ABC but I am heading back to Nashville in March. Really excited about it. I’m going to record an EP. I’ve got one last Sydney gig coming up at the Union Hotel in Newtown on March 7. Details are on facebook here – https://facebook.com/emmaswiftsings The show is free. Would be great to see you if you can make it! 🙂

  20. Leo Lane says:

    Emma, it may well be that Dave intended his message to be more positive than he had the ability to express. He may do better next time. We all have to learn through error.

    You showed great discipline and wonderful restraint and humanity in your reply.

    If it does not help Dave, and it well might, you have done yourself a service by articulating your thoughts and feelings, and showing what a great human being you are.

    You come through as being yourself, with no pretensions, and that is an impressive achievement.

    • Emma Swift says:

      Thanks for your kind words and encouragement, Leo Lane. I can’t believe how one negative experience has actually brought so much positivity into my world through people reading the blog and leaving comments and feedback, it’s been a lovely shock.

  21. Willie the K says:

    Emma,
    Two words for the Australian guy that dissed your music choices. Damn fool!
    Thanks for the Gram Parsons “stuff”. I wish my 3rd wife appreciated GP instead of that vapid Maroon Five s**t.
    All the best now and forever!

    Willie the K

  22. jasmine says:

    I am going to look up more of your work.. .your response was measured, personal and gave back love ‘to the universe’. It seems to me that is what great singer songwriters do.

Leave a comment