Happy birthday, Elvis!

elvis

“Some people tap their feet, some people snap their fingers, and some people sway back and forth. I just sorta do ’em all together, I guess.”  – Elvis Presley

Today marks what would have been the 78th birthday of the King of Rock & Roll. He died in Memphis in 1977, leaving behind an incredible artistic legacy and an amazing, excessively adorned wardrobe. Rhinestones, anyone?

My favourite Elvis era is the ’68 Comeback Special. He’s charming as ever , in perfect voice and disarmingly handsome. At this point in rock history, Elvis’ popularity was under threat from the younger, cooler long-hairs. He’d been keeping busy as Matinee Idol Elvis in the years just prior. So the ’68 Special is generally viewed as the King reclaiming his place at the top of the rock & roll food chain.

This is a clip from the ‘intimate’ part of the show. There’s a girl in the audience who sounds like she’s going to combust with desire. Can you blame her?

Despite the fact I’ve been living in Tennessee for five months, I still haven’t managed to make it to Memphis. My dear friend Natalie visited Graceland last week and wore head-to-toe gold for the occasion. My kinda woman. Hopefully I will make it there soon. Anyone feel like a road trip?

ElvisPresley-car

One thought on “Happy birthday, Elvis!

  1. jo newley says:

    Hi Emma
    found you via your letter to Mystic. I’m not a professional singer or songwriter, but love many of your fave artists, particularly the lovely Lucinda, and spend much time singing along on the house stereo.
    I just wanted to let you know how much I loved your butt kicking of David. What a tool! Your letter to mystic and your blog are the makings of a gutsy girl. I’m now a fan, without even checking you out on Youtube (but I will). You’ll go far darling girl, keep up the awesome!!
    Jo

Leave a comment